Finding Something to Live for When You are Depressed

There is no cure for depression, but the symptoms can be managed so that a person can function in society. But even then, setbacks will occur and the depression symptoms will become overwhelming. One of the most alarming of these symptoms is thoughts of suicide. Longing for death and an end to the suffering of depression is a constant struggle for many people with depression, including this writer.

I was diagnosed with endogenous recurring depression in 2003 (now usually called “major depressive syndrome, unspecified” by the fourth edition of The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-IV). This basically means that I can become suicidal for no reason at all. The first time I tried to kill myself was when I was in the early 1980s. My last attempt was in April of 2003, but suicide still crosses my mind. So how do I ignore it? ….

Please read the rest of my article at Yahoo! Voices.  Thanks!

Leave a Reply

