How Safe are Antidepressants for Women?

There are a lot of scary stories in the  news about people having bad reactions to antidepressants.  In 2009 Danish study, SSRI antidepressants were linked to birth defects.  This can lead any woman to wonder just how safe are these medications for women?

Any medication will not be 100% safe for 100% of the people taking it.  Don’t let this little fact stop you if you are a women with major depression or another mental illness.  I know what it’s like to want to commit suicide.  It’s very powerful.

But it’s also treatable.  For example, in my case my depression gave me insomnia and mild nausea most of the day.  The Prozac took care of the insomnia and most of the nausea.  In just a few months, I wasn’t planning on how to kill myself so much as planning on fun things to do in my lifetime.  At the time I started my antidepressant (in 2003) I was homeless.  So this stuff can work.

I didn’t think an SSRI would work for me because it doesn’t work for my Mom (who also has depression with anxiety.)  But even if your close relative can’t take the medication, you may be able to.  That’s what happened to me.

You owe it to yourself to at least try the antidepressant that your doctor or mental health professional recommends.  Keep in mind that you won’t feel the benefits until anywhere from one week to 2 months have passed.

To learn more about antidepressant safety for women, please read my Yahoo Voices article in the link provided.  Thanks!

Leave a Reply

