I’m Sick of Hearing About the School Shooting

I’m going to go out on a limb — I’m sick of hearing about the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting.  I have no family there.  I don’t personally know anyone who died.  I’ve never lived in Connecticut.  I don’t have school aged kids.  I really don’t care.  Can we change the record, please?

Yes, what happened was a tragedy.  But tragedies happen every day.  After a while, you get numbed to them.  At least, I do.  For example, I used to be homeless.  I used to be in an abusive relationship.  I used to be homeless in an abusive relationship.  I survived two floods and a fire.  If I had a sobbing fit every time a tragedy occurred in my life, I’d never get anything done.

I have to admit that it seems hypocritical to moan about a school shooting when people get killed every day.  The killing doesn’t happen all in one area, but there are still people dying.  For example, the New Jersey city of Camden has had at least 60 murders this year, including a mother who decapitated her kid.  Does anyone outside of the tri-state area care?  Nope.

I’m not saying I’m better than anyone else.  Clearly, I’m not.  But for those folks not directly involved in any mass shooting tragedy, it’s time to stop brooding and get on with our lives.  It would be nice if the national news channels would help out here.  Extensive media coverage may (emphasis on MAY) be inspiring mass shootings, in a bizarre way.

Dwelling on a tragedy plays hell with your mental health.  Yes, these are things are terrible and unfair.  But I can’t get worked up about it because I’m not directly involved.  If you want to get worked up, go ahead.  It’s not as if anyone is going to stop you.  Realize that the best way you can help your loved ones is by getting back to normal.

I only have so much energy.  I can’t break down over every sad news story.  It may seem cold, but I have to do this in order to keep functioning.  I suspect I’m not the only one.

2 comments
  1. You are not alone. I just don’t get going over the same ground with every funeral. I have empathy, but quite frankly with my history of depression; I’ve learned to move on and try to embrace life.

  2. I completely understand, Rena. 🙂 As a Christian I am sorry for what happened, the loss of young lives, etc. But I also am bipolar so I too tend to become numb to tragedy and pain. I do think the media and other folks have been focusing too much on this…national moments of silence, coverage of the funerals, endless talk about the events, etc. It’s been over a week and while I understand many need time to “move on” there are other important things happening in the world. Enough is enough.

Leave a Reply

