No Excuses — Give Me a Break

The photo you see here is one of the London Special Olympic equestrian athletes, Bettina Eistel and her horse Fabuleax 5 competing in dressage.  As you can see, she does not have arms and mainly rides with her leg aids, shifts of body position and her teeth.  During 2012, there have been many photos of her and other handicapped riders circulating around the web with the caption “No excuses!”

No excuses?  Are you KIDDING me?  I’d love to be able to ride.  I’d love a horse.  However, I know that’s never going to happen in my life (unless the Zombie Apocalypse happens and enough people will be eaten so I could finally get a horse BUT ANYWAY) because I’m POOR.  I also live in a town where keeping horses is illegal.  I think that’s a pretty damn good excuse.

What am I to do? Break the friggin’ law?  I guess I’m supposed to chop my arms off so I’ll have a chance of getting into a handicapped riders’ program because I can’t afford riding lessons with my two halfway-decent arms.

So, before you re-post a photo like this with “No Excuses!” on it, stop and think of how it comes across.  It shows you absolutely no understanding of real life.  Just because you want to do something (like me wanting a horse) doesn’t mean it’s going to happen.  EVER.  Saying “No excuses!” just rubs a copious amount of salt into a wide, gaping wound.  Getting such a meme serves only to make me more depressed rather than give any sort of encouragement.

 

1 comment
  1. emily said:

    “Saying “No excuses!” just rubs a copious amount of salt into a wide, gaping wound. Getting such a meme serves only to make me more depressed rather than give any sort of encouragement.”

    Just thought it was worth repeating, thank you, Ems

Leave a Reply

