Why I Will Not Forgive and Forget

I’m sick of being told to “forgive and forget.” I get told this because I was a victim of domestic violence and have PSTD (as well as major depression).  I can understand forgiving and forgetting when someone dings my car door in the supermarket parking lot but getting beat up and left for dead?  Fuck that!

And, being in love (read idiot) I did do the forgive and forget thing the first time he tried to kill me.  And the second time.  And the third time.  Can you see you ineffective forgiving and forgetting was in that situation?

So, moral of the story is — forgiveness ain’t cheap.  Don’t give it away freely.

563050_515497215183022_317905530_n

Leave a Reply

