If You’re Ugly and You Know It, Clap Your Hands

I work at home.  I’m not only a freelance writer, but I’m the caretaker to my Mom.  Mom has a tendency to fall asleep in front of a blaring television.  However, if I turn the television off, she wakes up and turns the television back on.  And then goes to sleep again.

So I was not responsible for listening to a recent episode of The Biggest Loser.  During this episode, there was mention that many American girls do not think they are beautiful.  There was a lot of gasps and “tut-tut”-ing at that.

And I thought, “Yeah? So?”  Maybe the girls are ugly and they accept reality.  It’s not that big of a deal.  I knew was I was ugly when I was a kid and (SURPRISE) I grew up into an ugly woman.  Quite frankly, the only thing that’s going to make me look better is intensive reconstructive surgery.  That’s just the way it is.

When someone claims they are beautiful (and really are butt-ugly) don’t you feel a little unsure about this person’s sanity?  Am I the only one here thinking, “How many layers of delusion are you under, kiddo?” It’s like listening to a failed audition at American Idol (another show my Mom likes to fall asleep to) and the wanna-be singer has no clue as to why they failed.  One hopeless case from when Ellen DeGeneres was a judge even wailed, “But it’s my DREAM!” The judges have no problem telling her that she couldn’t sing.  Why can’t we tell someone they’re ugly (provided they ask first?)

Worrying about your looks is majorly stressful for some people.  I understand that (especially if you are in a job where looks are everything.)  But if you’re ugly (like me) then why even try going down that path which you know will lead to absolute, crushing failure?  Just accept it and move on.  Read a book.  Take up a hobby.  Adopt a pet (which neer cares what you look like as long as you are breathing.)

I think this is a much healthier outlook for ugly people than for insisting that they are beautiful.

 

Leave a Reply

