Is Anybody Normal?

Yes, there is a town in Illinois called Normal

I’ve been dealing with mental illness since the womb and writing about it for money since 2006. I’m not an expert, but after researching and writing hundreds of articles about mental illness, psychopaths, addictions, phobias and manias, I can honestly say that I’ve never come across a normal person. I’ve never met one, never heard about one and certainly never found one in my research.

Now, I have read about people behaving within normal parameters for certain situations. For example, I don’t think I’m going out on a limb if I state that the usual reaction to having to eat another human being is, “EEEEEWWWWWWWWWWWWW.” It would be abnormal to say, “Praise the Lord and pass the sauce.” However, people who do not want to eat other people are not necessarily normal in every aspect. They could all have some sort of mental illness.

So, if you are telling yourself that you are better off dead because you are not normal, there doesn’t seem to be any proof to back up that claim. It seems being abnormal is… well… normal.

Leave a Reply

