Getting Obsessed About Hannibal

Sorry it’s been a while since I’ve posted.  I’ve been taking a mental vacation from writing this past week or  so.  I’ve been reading, eating and indulging a growing obsession with a television show called Hannibal.  It’s a re-imagining of the Dr. Hannibal Lector stories by Thomas Harris.  One of my favorite movies is The Silence of the Lambs (1991) so I thought this series might be a train wreck.  Out of curiosity, I watched the premier and now I’m hooked.

Perhaps one definition of sanity is that you have more than one obsession.  Yes, I’m still obsessed with reading, with animals and especially Peter Gabriel, but now I have a new obsession to tack onto the list.  I know my mental health isn’t so good when one of my obsessions takes over my life to the point where everything else just gets shoves into a corner of my mind.

So, how obsessed am I with Hannibal?  I downloaded Windows Movie Maker for the sole purpose of making a fan vid like you see on YouTube (and on the top of this blog post).  You know — videos of pop songs with a montage from a favorite show or movie that folks make all of the time.  I have absolutely no idea how they managed it.  I can’t get a damn thing to work with Movie Maker.  Specifically, I can’t save any videos.  It’s a little hard to make a fan vid of Hannibal if I can’t download any episodes from the Internet.  I even bought the first season from Amazon’s Instant Video service.  But saving these videos?  No dice.

It’s driving me nuts that I can’t figure out how to work Movie Maker while people half my age can throw dozens of videos up on YouTube.  I know I should be going back to writing and focusing on what my clients want me to write but I just can’t get the idea for a Hannibal fan video out of my freaking head.  Eventually, I’ll have to start writing again in order to pay the bills — and for these damn Hannibal episodes I bought from Amazon.

Leave a Reply

