Dealing with Pinterest Guilt

So I spent the last four hours on Pinterest instead of doing anything productive like finishing the overdue library book, walking the dogs or (gasp) working.  Yesterday I spent nearly eight hours on Pinterest.  I felt incredibly guilty at the time, but don’t now.

We all need vacations or our mental health suffers.  If you’re like me, you cannot afford to take an actual goes-away-from-the-house vacation.  For me, a vacation is curling up with a good book, watching the Olympics on TV or goofing around on Pinterest.  I consider it a mental vacation as opposed to a physical vacation.

I discovered Pinterest a few months ago and rarely have I ever become addicted to anything so quickly.  Even my fight against Xanax addiction pales in comparison.  I got off Xanax with a sympathetic parent, a tough doctor who refuses to perscribe me benzoddiazepines anymore —  and loads of Ben & Jerry’s.

Now I need a Pinterest fix at least an hour a day.  I’ve gotten to the point where I get some work or household chores done FIRST and then go on Pinterest as a reward.  Only problem is that then I wind up staying on Pinterst until 2 in the morning.

So how do I cope with Pinterest addiction?  Do I stop going to Pinterest?

Are you insane?

My theory is that  if I overdose on Pinterest, I’ll eventually get bored with it, leave it alone, and get on with my freelance writing so I can earn money for my medications and my ice cream.

In the last month or so, I’ve created Pinboards devoted to my job in order to justify my hanging around there. Some people like my Pinboards so much that I pin on three public multiple-user pinboards. I have 108 boards now, including boards for Mental Illness & Mental HealthNew Article Ideas and Books I Haven’t Read Yet.  I have thousands of articles on the Internet.  Any with an image is getting pinned so I can get more readers and make more money.

That’s my excuse and I’m sticking with it.

So I have no reason to suffer from Pinterest guilt.

None at all.

Excuse me as I go stuff some Chocolate Therapy ice cream in my face.

Leave a comment